Home » A disease-Giving Husband » Finding Katy – Chapter Three

Finding Katy – Chapter Three

I woke up and my heart was pounding.  I ran to the door and opened it, hoping to see Katy standing in front of my house.  My shoulders slumped when I realized that it was only a dream…but it was so realistic.

I remembered exactly what she looked like.  I remembered her eyes.  They weren’t happy by any means but they weren’t sad or full of fear.  They just looked sort of hollow and lifeless.  I will admit…that dream shook me up.

I went back inside and picked up her bear.  I didn’t even know what she had called it.  I didn’t ask Miss Mabel and for all I knew, she had never named it. For some reason it felt wrong for me to give it a name, other than “Katy’s bear.”  I found myself talking to it as if it was a surrogate for her.  I looked at it and said “Katy, are you trying to tell me something?”

I decided to tell Miss Mabel about my dream.  I went to visit her grave every month and talked to her and told her what I was doing and how my life was going.  Even though I didn’t believe in the supernatural in any capacity, I asked Miss Mabel to give me a sign if she could hear me talking to her.  I asked her to give me a sign if, God forbid, Katy was with her.

I don’t know if people like me, who ask for answers from a source they don’t believe in ever get them.  I guess I just hoped for something that would make me become a believer.

Just as I expected, the sky didn’t darken.  The ground didn’t quake.  There was no thunder or lightning.  I didn’t see any ghostly apparitions nor I didn’t hear any disembodied voices.

I said goodbye to Miss Mabel and told her that I would see her again soon.  I asked for her forgiveness because I had broken the promise I made when I told her I would find Katy.

I felt like that promise had given me a purpose.  To say that I had failed miserably would be generous.

I think when you have a purpose, you don’t feel so alone.

 

To be continued______________

 

3 thoughts on “Finding Katy – Chapter Three

Leave a Reply

