Home » A disease-Giving Husband » Who Am I?

Who Am I?

They say that I was once a great beauty.
Who am I?

I commanded attention and turned heads.  I was bright and shiny and many an envious eye was cast my way.
Who am I?

My arrival was anticipated by most and feared by few.
Who am I?

People smiled and cheered when I arrived.  People wanted to touch me.  People wanted to be seen with me.  Children ran after me and waved.
Who am I?

People held back tears when I left.  Some of them blew soft kisses.  Some of them stood and watched me until I could be seen no longer.
Who am I?

My voice inspired poetry and hauntingly beautiful songs.  Mythical stories have been written about me.
Who am I?

I have seen many great wonders and I have witnessed horrible atrocities.
Who am I?

I have witnessed and hidden illicit affairs.  I have witnessed and hidden crimes of passion.
Who am I?

I have heard hearty laughter and I have seen woeful tears.  I have experienced glorious joy and I have seen pain and sorrow laid bare.
Who am I?

My shine is now faded and worn and I have been scarred.  I have been neglected, discarded and forgotten.  I was slowly replaced by others whose superficial shine will never equal mine.  I shall never return to my former glory.
Who am I? 

Now most people walk by without a single glance.  If I am noticed, I see pity in their eyes.  Some don’t remember that I once existed.  Some know me only in folklore or fairy tales.
Who am I?

They say that I was once a great beauty.
Who am I?

 

34 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. Well, I suppose I could holler “Train!” and pretend to be all smart, but I actually read through the comments and the answer was right there, so…. Anyway, this is what I get for being late to the party. Maybe next time I won’t dawdle so much and get my ass over here…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was going to say the American Flag too…but no, huh? Well….geez. This is a real poser. I’d say Christ, but I don’t think that’s it either….I’m going with (final answer) a penny. Although I don’t know of music or poetry being dedicated to a penny, and it certainly has no voice… Wow!! Please post the answer when you get the correct one, as this is going to bug those with OCD in your crowd… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very good and very dark and reflective. It’s been while since I popped over here so please accept my apologies. life and all that…not to mention the enemy Time, as your ode indeed dishes out…

    Who am I?

    I ask a lot these days too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

