Home » A disease-Giving Husband » The Angel Maker – Chapter Twelve

The Angel Maker – Chapter Twelve

A year had gone by and Emberlyn had transformed the house into a grandiose spectacle fit for a king and his queen.  She and Mr. Stark had settled into a life of entertaining celebrities and uppity-ups and being the envy of even their own peers.

She hadn’t been feeling well and under the guise of going shopping, stopped by Dr. Giles’ office.  After an examination, he smiled when he told her there was a reason that she didn’t feel well.

She could hardly contain her excitement as she drove home.  A special dinner was in order she thought, so she asked the cook to prepare Mr. Starks’ favorite meal.

That afternoon, she put on a dress that had always been one of his favorites.  He called it her Sexy Sally dress.  When she walked out of the dressing room, he smiled and said “hmm.  Do we want a new Mercedes?” She smiled and said “no, I wanted to look special for you tonight.”

“But you always look special to me,” he said.  When they got to the top of the grand staircase, she stopped and said  “I have a surprise for you and I hope you’re going to be pleased.”

He smiled and said “I believe I can smell Crown Roast and that’s always a pleasant surprise.”  She said “no.  Well yes, you smell Crown Roast but that’s not the surprise.”

“Well, it must be something special because you have on your Sexy Sally dress,” he said with a wink.  “What ever is it?”

She looked at him and said “we’re going to have a baby.”

For an instant, he stood in stunned silence.  Then in a rage, he raised his arms and screamed “I told you I didn’t want any more children.”  He frightened Emberlyn and when she recoiled, she took a fatal step backward and tumbled down the stairs.

The next morning, she awoke in the hospital.  She urgently rang for the nurse and with desperation in her voice, said “my baby?”  The nurse shook her head and said “no child.  There is no baby anymore.”  Emberlyn asked her to leave the room and began to cry uncontrollably.

Doctor Giles came in later and asked Emberlyn if she could tell him what happened.  She lied when she said “I just lost my balance and fell down the stairs.  I must have had a snootful.”  He looked at her and said “okay, but why did the toxicology report show no alcohol in your system?”  Emberlyn looked down and said “I don’t know but that’s what happened.”

She had bruises and scrapes consistent with a fall but Dr. Giles heard what he thought was a combination of anger and fear in her voice and wasn’t convinced that she just lost her balance.  She would physically recover because she was young and healthy but he wasn’t sure about her mental recovery.  It was clearly evident that she was emotionally destroyed by the loss of her child and he thought her not yet strong enough to hear that there would never be another.

That afternoon, Mr. Stark came to see her and asked how she was feeling. He said nothing about their baby.  When he handed her a rose, she unsuccessfully tried to hide her umbrage and he saw it but ignored it.  He said “when you get home, we’re going to take a trip and you’ll forget all about this unfortunate mishap.”

“This unfortunate mishap?” she said.  She began to cry and said “that’s what you think this was?  An unfortunate mishap?”  He tried to console her but it did no good.  She became hysterical and screamed for him to leave. When the nurse came running into the room, she saw that Emberlyn was emotionally distraught and needed a sedative.  She told Mr. Stark that she believed it was best if he left.

Dr. Giles let her go home the next day and not making eye contact, gave strict instructions that she was to do nothing but rest.  Emberlyn could read Dr. Giles’ face and asked him what he wasn’t telling her.

Reluctantly, he told her that she had suffered too much internal damage to ever carry another child.  He was surprised by her reaction when she smiled and said “thank you doctor.  Is that all?”

Mr. Stark had hired a private nurse and when Emberlyn got home, she requested that her things be moved into another bedroom.

She demurely told Mr. Stark to try to understand that she needed time to heal.  What she didn’t tell him was that he was never going to touch her again.

 

To be continued__________

16 thoughts on “The Angel Maker – Chapter Twelve

    • REALLY? Hmmm. Not to disparage Frances but I don’t think so. I have no idea. When I was younger, had shorter, more blonde than silver hair, several times men would come up to me and ask if anyone had ever told me that I looked like Angie Dickinson. (Obviously they were drunk.) One of my daughters was with me and she asked who that was. Ironically, a few days later, I was flipping through the television channels and happened upon a movie where Angie was in bed with Lee Marvin. I called my daughter in and said “that’s her.” My daughter squealed and said “mom! That’s you!” LOLOL Ah, but time and grief will take its toll.

      Like

      • When I asked that, I obviously hadn’t thought it through. I didn’t even consider a physical look alike. (I didn’t know what you look like ). I had thought of a character actor, and Frances always seem to play a straight faced, with just a touch of a smirk and is always very direct in her lines. Angie Dickinson? She was quite the sex bomb! I (and I am sure a bunch of teenage boys ) had the hots for her! 🙂

        Like

        • I saw her (Frances) in “Burn after reading.” I thought she played sort of a silly character. I only watched it because somebody wanted to see it. It wasn’t really my kind of movie. I know that Brad Pitt and George Clooney were in it but they just don’t do it for me. LOL
          I have a large DVD collection and I tend to watch those movies over and over. Sort of like life, I guess. If I don’t like something, I don’t want it around.

          Like

  1. OK, so anyone can become murderous if they’ve been betrayed to the point they think their lives are destroyed, I guess. But you have managed to create sympathy for her. I guess it’s easy when we’ve all lived with a shithead, lol. Hope she has a good life once this chapter is over. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

