Home » A Wasted Life » Wentworth Miller aka Michael Scofields’ Suit and Alas…”I’m Not A Good Christian.”

Wentworth Miller aka Michael Scofields’ Suit and Alas…”I’m Not A Good Christian.”

This is his suit on the mannequin.  Ah, were he really in that suit, I probably wouldn’t be posting right now.  My eyes would be elsewhere.  (Unapologetic giggle.)

This is his “corpse” being dressed.  If I cried, I would be wailing.  (Uncontrollably.)

NOW…WHY I’M NOT A ‘”GOOD CHRISTIAN.”

One of my neighbors (I’ll call her Pam) saw me in the yard a few weeks ago and stopped as she was driving by.  She said “I haven’t seen you out and about lately.”

I had been dealing with #4, so I indeed wasn’t out and about lately.

I don’t know how the conversation turned to my saying that I was originally from North Carolina but somehow, it did.  She was aghast and said “oh, I don’t go there.  There’s a city there that is FULL of homosexuals, and they have men who dress up like women and want to use the ladies’ room!”

I laughed and said “do you know how many times I have used the mens’ room because the line for the ladies’ room was so long?”

She asked me where I was from and I said “Asheville.”  She said “THAT’S IT!  THAT’S THE CITY!”

Everybody in the neighborhood knows that you don’t curse in front of Pam because she’s one of those “God people.”  She lives and breathes for her church.

I said “you know, Pam.  Asheville is a beautiful town, full of beautiful people.”  She said “the Bible speaks against homosexuality.”  I said “the Bible also says ‘judge not, lest ye be judged’.”

Fortunately, it started to rain and I made my exit back into my house.

She does not want to get into a scripture quoting contest with me.  I may not go to church anymore but I would pit myself against a Bible scholar any day of the week.

A few days later, she saw me hauling the big box to the curb, that my mannequin came in.  She stopped and asked me what in the world had come in that box.  I went on to tell her about the mannequin and more importantly, the suit I had gotten and the beautiful man who had worn it.

She said “who is that man again?”  I said “Wentworth Miller.  Look him up. You’ll see what I mean.”

The next day, I was picking up tree limbs that had fallen down from the last nights’ wind and rain.  Here comes Pam.  She rolled down her window and said “I looked up that man and HE IS A HOMOSEXUAL!

She went on to say “and did you know his mother is white and his father is BLACK?”  I said “I did know that and look at what a beautiful child they made together.”

She looked at me and said “well, he’s going to Hell and so are you if you don’t pray for redemption.  You are NOT a good Christian!”  Then she rolled up her window and drove away.

WHAT?  FOR FUCKS’ SAKE!  I’m not a “good Christian” and Hell beckons because I’m not an ignorant, narrow-minded, hypocritical, pretentious, holier than thou, backwoods nitwit?

Fine.  Guilty as charged.

I’ve never made it a secret that I believe in God nor have I ever made it a secret that I don’t like Him very much right now.  Actually, I’m REALLY PISSED AT HIM right now but the God I believe in doesn’t hate people.  If He was Southern and had been in her car, He would have been ashamed.

I have no illusions of ever entering the “pearly gates” and not because I absolutely adore Wentworth Miller (“a half white, half black homosexual”) but because I am honest about things like my hatred for certain people and my complete and utter disdain for any kind of prejudice or injustice.  I won’t play the ostentatious “good Christian” game.  What you see is what you fucking get and if you don’t like it, you can bite me.

“Bless her heart” (fellow Southerners know exactly what that means.)  Hell, I’ve got a good mind to visit her church, dressed like a man and ask “where’s the ladies’ room?”

She is a perfect example of why Southerners are perceived to be…well, exactly what she is.

45 thoughts on “Wentworth Miller aka Michael Scofields’ Suit and Alas…”I’m Not A Good Christian.”

  1. Hey Laurel! Well, I am a “Southerner” too but have learned that there is a huge difference between “religion” and “relationship”… just like there is a huge difference in being a “Christian” and being a “Believer”. But the Bible is clear… we are all sinners and all fall short of the Glory of God. But praise God for His grace and mercy!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post is yet another reason why I think you’re one of the finest people out there in this crazy digital world where we fumble along and bump into each other, stepping back and thinking, hey, I’d like to get to know you more… πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. I am not going to lie. I think Christians like you- people who believe but are aware of their real feelings… Are a lit more effective at being real symbols of god than your batty old crazy bigoted bitch of a neighbor. I have my own battles with belief so I don’t say anything about it. But even in that I have had messages from friends with faith who say my life and choices are examples of incredible spiritual development. Despite my doubt, which they are aware of. . I am a good Christian to them. I find it laughable but whatever. Old bats like her are worse for the cause. I love your outlook.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah…I don’t understand them. They’ll pray for murderers and rapists but they condemn beautiful people like Wentworth. As far as I’m concerned, she can go pound sand…(I don’t really know what that means but I heard it once and thought it was cool.) LOL
      I don’t know what my problem is. Poor #4 kept hugging me and I kept freezing. When he was drunk one time, I heard him talking to one of his “friends” and he said “my fucking mom won’t even hug me.” I’m a bad mama….but I guess he doesn’t remember all the times he went to sleep in my arms or how many times I stepped in front of Loser when he was getting ready to hit him.
      At least #4 can hug. I haven’t ruined him.

      Like

  4. She is an example of how a Christian doesn’t act, seriously she better start asking for some forgiveness for herself. So did I miss how you acquired the mannequin and Wentworth Miller’s suit??? I will pray for your neighbor so she doesn’t end up being your next storyline, just think how you could torture her in print. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha, ha, its easy – and fun to laugh at idiots like her, but then when you get up close its actually quite annoying! OH dear, its been a tough week! I wish I had holy powers – I’d make her trip and fall over, then smirk to myself with my secret powers! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oooo girl you got my dander up. I ain’t ‘suthern’, I’s a true blue Yankee (pass the smelling salts to the sensitive women in the room), but obviously there’s all kinds of ‘sutherners’ just like there’s all kinds of Yankees or any other group you’d care to name. I’m also passive aggressive. Ms. Holier-Than-Thou would have gotten an anonymous poison pen letter from ME stating she was no Christian at all…that Jesus did NOT JUDGE and she should be careful of judging other folks. Something nasty about the people in her particular woodpile. But one thing you ARE is a lady. You didn’t sink to her level nor do anything except ignore her, which thing will ‘get’ her worse than anything else. Above all the bigots and self-righteous want to make sure they’re HEARD.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Em. There are indeed people like that all around…no matter where you live. I haven’t encountered them much because I don’t get out that much. This woman is twenty years older than I am so should I overlook her ignorance? NO. My mama and daddy were twenty years older than I am and my grandparents were twenty years older than they were. NEVER did I hear any of them criticize a color, religion or sexual preference. My mama was a monster, true but I never heard a curse word from her nor did I ever hear any racist comments…so I really can’t blame age…it’s more…character (or lack of) I think.

      Liked by 2 people

    • These “God people” aren’t shy about telling you how wrong you are. I remember once, one of them said that if you didn’t go to church, your soul was doomed to eternal Hell. I took exception and said that my grandparents couldn’t go to church because they didn’t have a car and the nearest church was too far away for them to walk…and they were NOT going to Hell.
      This person said “yes they are.” I said “then I don’t want to know the God you know.”
      Bullshit…that’s what they “preach.”

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Your neighbor needs to pray for her ownself and stop judging people. How are you going to judge a whole town? Really? I bet more than one skeleton would fall out of her closet if you were looking in it.

    Like

    • You know sis, people like her think they’re right. I have always considered myself to be a “fundamentalist” Baptist, which means to me that I take the Bible literally. I love the stories, believe God destroyed the Earth with water and left a rainbow as a promise that He would never do that again. But, the Bible is also contradictory. The most important passage I think is “do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” That doesn’t mean judging or telling somebody they’re going to hell. I don’t pray anymore and being the heathen I am…I would never pray for her. Sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I love the picture!! Also, your neighbor is sadly misinformed if she believes that the way she thinks and acts is a sure way for her to get to heaven. It’s quite the opposite. People like that give actual Christians a bad reputation

    Like

  9. Oh man, I am so with you on that racism bigotry thing. But then, you know that. At some point you have to feel sorry for people who close themselves into a little box and are unable to enjoy the limitless beauty of the world. But then they come to telling you their box is the one and only path….Geezus. Maybe you should take him out in the yard and have a roll in the grease with him next time she’s out and about. Lol.

    Like

  10. And maybe Im being dense but are mixed raced humans now an abomination against Christianity? Guess I didn’t know. *shrug*

    Like

  11. Bless her little ignorant, narrow minded, judgmental mind. Bless her heart. Bless her heart. Lawd, bless her heart. This is the mess that pushes people away from religion. My God, the God that I believe in isn’t like this. My God wants me to be good and kind and not judgemental. He wants me to try to do my best and recognize when I’ve made mistakes. My God didn’t sent me here to point fingers at people who are already struggling and tell them they’re going to hell. She drank the koolaid and the koolaid was full of gay hating, prejudice, scared of seeing a penis in the bathroom, crazy liquid. Gah! This bathroom thing is crazy enough on its on. Seriously bad people are going to find you if they want to. Not because you think a man has on a dress in a woman’s bathroom. Sorry, had to preach πŸ’πŸΌ.

    She makes me want to send a subscription of a LGBT publication to her residence addresses to her in all CAPS!

    Also Asheville is awesome. It’s it beautiful, full of friendly people and fantastic music. Maybe you should ask her to go on a road trip there just for fun πŸ˜‚! Tell her you had a vision that she needed to go there in a hippie dress.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Preach on! Ha. I should have said “I wish you could have known Reverend Burgin and my uncle, Reverend Wyatt. They, much like you, preached Hell fire and brimstone…but they only preached it on Sunday. Burgin loved to do the bar scene…sans wife. He would call my daddy at three o’clock in the morning to come get him because he was too drunk to find his car. Wyatt…loved other women. Had three offspring by women he was “loving” while married to my aunt.
      It was bad enough that she was trashing my Wentworth…then she had to start trashing me. Not a good move….I should send her an anonymous card, saying “ask forgiveness for your condemnations…lest you also be condemned.” LOLOL

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

