Home » A disease-Giving Husband » My Thanksgiving Day

My Thanksgiving Day

Thanksgiving is in a few days and some people are posting about their plans.  I truly hope that all of you have a lovely time.  It’s such a wonderful thing to be with family and friends during a holiday season.  I remember it well.

I was thinking a few weeks ago that I should make some of my famous macaroni and cheese for that special day but hell, that would mean having to go to the grocery store. Not only that, it would mean actually having to COOK.

It’s supposed to be a comfort food and I guess it is but if it’s a drag to fix, what’s so comforting about that?  I decided no macaroni and cheese for me this year…or any other year for that matter.

I did stop by the grocery store the other day, after a visit to my doctor.  I walked around, looking for food and wanting to get the hell out of there as soon as I could.  I finally put a can of collard greens and black-eyed peas in my cart. That’s for New Years’ Day.  I was thinking that meant that I wouldn’t have to get out again until after next year.  Hey. You can’t say I’m not prepared.

I thought for Thanksgiving day, I would get dressed and put Prison Break on Netflix.  I will just have a Prison Break-a-thon.  Looking at Wentworth Miller all day long can’t be a bad thing, can it?  I’ll drink a few Boosts and plenty of my favorite…water.

Suddenly, a light bulb went off!  I’ll fix a cuppa, cuppa, cuppa!  For those of you who aren’t Southern and don’t know what that is….it’s a cup of sugar, a cup of flour and a cup of fruit cocktail with the syrup.  You don’t even have to stir it.  Just bake it in the oven at 350° for a little while and viola!  You have a gooey mess of tooth-rotting, blood-pressure elevating, blood-sugar raising, fruit cocktail, flour and sugar!

I thought I had a pound of sugar in my freezer, so I picked up a can of fruit cocktail.  When I got home, I realized that I didn’t have any flour.  (Why would I have flour?  I never cook.)  There’s no way I’m going all the way back to the grocery store (especially this week) to pick up a pound of flour, so I may just have a Bottle-a, Bottle-a, Bottle-a for Thanksgiving.

Will I miss eating turkey?  Nope.  I don’t eat turkey.  Will I miss the other trappings?  Yep.  I sure will.

I won’t be setting my alarm for three o’clock in the morning for black Friday.  I have NEVER done black Friday shopping. I did one “grey Thursday” a few years ago with my middle daughter and one of her friends.

People were walking around with 500″ televisions perched precariously on their carts and if you weren’t careful, you would become a smashed casualty on the floor.

I bought “The Hunger Games.”  Later, when I watched it, I didn’t understand a dad-burned thing that was going on so I threw it into a box of Losers’ shit that I was returning to him.

My son was staying with me then and I asked him if he wanted to go.  He said he thought he would just hit it, so I asked him if I could leave at midnight and not have to worry about him.

He told me I could but instead of going to bed, he walked up the street and managed somehow to get some booze. He was drunk when I got home.  (I know now that he stole two of the last pieces of jewelry I had left and traded them for a few rounds.)  Ah…the memories.

I’m used to spending the holidays and special occasions by myself now, so it’s no biggie.  It’s just another day.

 

32 thoughts on “My Thanksgiving Day

  1. I’m thankful for you, Laurel.
    And you are welcome here. I’m not kidding. You are WELCOME here.
    We would love to have you here at our table and in our home. We would love to hear you tell stories in your magical Laurel way.
    I will even make cuppa cuppa cuppa if you want.
    You are so special, and I want you to know that.
    HUGS dear friend.

    Like

  2. for years–due to the trauma of childhood thanksgivings–i could not do a traditional thanksgiving. one thanksgiving eve i actually went to a bar & looked for someone to have thanksgiving with. it turned out way better (and worse) than one would think. i have to be careful with how i celebrate thanksgiving. it’s a tricky holiday. i hope you are able to have a good day despite it all ❤

    Like

  3. Thanksgiving makes me wistful. It comes with one of the few memories I have of my Mother in the days before she lost her mind. I remember curling up with her in bed to watch the Macy’s Day Parade in New York on television. I remember that she promised to take me to see it the next year. Then she got pregnant and changed.

    Like

  4. I’ve never really assimilated to the whole thanksgiving feast yet. I probably have done two out of the five years that I have been here. The rest is mostly taking the kids away for a vacation. This year, I’m not doing much either. Probably take the boys to some fun places…since now I’m the sole caretaker. After two years of painful suffering, the dad just stopped seeing them. I guess I should make a feast just for that and be thankful 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I do not understand the whole Black Friday either – I like the holidays, but honestly have not given Christmas presents for many years – I feel it serves no real purpose. I respect your view for Thanksgiving – truly I do. I will think about you on that day Laurel – I hope that is okay. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have spent more than one holiday holed up in my house reading or watching Netflix. Like you, I tell myself it (Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas) is just another day. I prefer to be with family but when it doesn’t work out I try to make do. That said, loneliness is painful. Hang in there. Hugs, Lori

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve spent a few Turkey days alone myself. I’m beginning to wish I hadn’t committed to going to my roommate’s brother’s house but I won’t back out now.

    Christmas though is looking like it’s going to be a solo holiday for me, unless my roomy decides not to go to his sister’s house, which I doubt.

    It’s a good 2 hour drive on Christmas day to her house…which is why I’ve decided against doing Christmas with his fam if it’s up there. Driving a total of 4 hours was not fun last year, particularly since it rained on our way back, in the dark. No thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

