Home » A Wasted Life » Today Is August 17th

Today Is August 17th

August 17th, 1974…42 years ago to the day, I met the person who would destroy everything I ever believed in…faith, honor, fidelity and love.

August 17th, 2005…11 years ago to the day, I got a phone call from my work partner which was the catalyst for finding out that I had been married for almost thirty years to a lying, cheating, disease-giving scumbag.

August 17th, 2015… 1 year ago to the day, I received the last email I will ever get from the Loser puppet.  Without reading it, I responded and told him that I would never read another email from him again so “don’t waste your time.”

August 17th, 2016…today.  I am single…I am free….I posted the second part of a story I am working on….I flirted with my cyber husband…but…unfortunately….I still remember August 17th.

37 thoughts on “Today Is August 17th

  1. Wow! Great post, Laurel… 🙂
    Aug. 17, 1970 — my first and only true love… the love of my life… was born.
    Aug. 17, 2016 — I re-blogged “Love is a Risk” and talked about how blessed I felt to have found and experienced “true love” though I know I messed it up twice and I feel so guarded now because I feel that I don’t want to get hurt… then I realized that I posted it on his birthday. Coincidence? I think not. I don’t believe in accidents. 😉

    ❤ BP

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that you know yourself in a way that few people do. It is unfair you had to walk through fire to know yourself that well but you have become an incredible person as a result. Out of the fire, you are a phoenix in my eyes, a survivor, a strong person, a good person. You have a great intelligence and moreover, you still possess your heart. I admire the heck out of you for so many ways. So happy FREEDOM DAY my friend. Long may you be free and long may you know how cherished you are by people who believe in you for the real person you are.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You always remember for what it brought and gave you. Yes he did all those horrible things to you. But you are still here. And we are here to listen and to learn. You may not have realized but I’ve learned a lot from you. And I thank you for that. So instead of the date, remember that this is another date where you are no longer in his presence.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

