Home » A disease-Giving Husband » About The Story Of The Greeter

About The Story Of The Greeter

Here are some actual facts that I integrated into the story about the greeter.

I really do have a picture of a man who was born in the 1800s’.
My son really did take the picture off my wall because he thought it was “creepy.”

My son (unfortunately) really is a “III.”

There really is an antique store in what used to be the original county jail.
I really did buy the picture there and I really did find it behind a chair.
The jail really is supposedly “haunted” and some people refuse to go anywhere near it.

I really do live across the street from an old historic mansion.
There really is a plaque with a quilt design painted on the front.
The name of the house really is my grandmothers’ last name, although the name Morgan is fictitious.

I really do have chandeliers in every room in my house…even my bathrooms.

My friend of more than twenty-five years really does have dyed hair with a hot pink streak in it.

My youngest daughter really does have a tattoo of a Phoenix on her arm.

There really is an Ann Street one block from me.

There really was a greeter.  He lived right in the center of the town where I grew up.  Nobody knew who he was and he really had “been there for as long as anybody could remember.”

Instead of looking for imaginary pitching signs, he stepped over imaginary dead bodies and “took cover” when he heard a loud noise.  He was a wounded Korean War veteran who was suffering from “shell shock” (now known as PTSD.)

He really did wear a baseball cap and a green flannel shirt.

He would never allow anybody to approach him and never made eye contact.  People left food for him on the park benches but nobody ever saw him eat anything.

Nobody knew where he went at night.

Twenty years after I left my hometown, I returned.  He was still there.

 

 

 

 

51 thoughts on “About The Story Of The Greeter

  1. We had a guy similar to your “greeter” in my hometown but he was a bit scarier. I don’t know what war he was in but he talked to himself and at times was seen carrying a gun through town. We know more about PTSD today than back then but it was sad and everyone just allowed him a wide berth.

    Like

    • Carrying a REAL gun or make-believe? I know. When he was there, the Vietnam War was in full bloom. A lot of the guys I knew either came home in a body bag or were confined to a mental hospital. The others didn’t talk. Ever though “shell shocked” was an accepted disorder……..nobody cared.

      Liked by 1 person

      • No, unfortunately it was real. He also had a drinking problem and if memory serves I think the only time he would be arrested was when he was bombed out of his skull for the safety of the general public. Yeah and I remember referring to them at that time as shell shocked and you’re right the general consensus was one of unconcern.

        Like

        • Do you ever wish you could go back in time and maybe try to help him? I wish I had been old enough at the time to do something but nobody interfered then. Children were coming to school with black eyes and bruises all over….but nobody cared…so they weren’t going to care about some man who had “lost it.”

          Liked by 1 person

          • Yes there are so many things I would change if I could go back in time being an adult. It was the same deal with people who had mental illness. I had an aunt who by today’s standards would have been considered as having Alzheimer’s but back then she was put into a mental hospital and called senile. As a kid this was scary and while there needed to be change in how we handled people with mental illness I don’t think closing down all of the state mental facilities was the answer. As a result we now have quite a number of people with mental illness living on the streets and it’s just not right.

            Like

            • Exactly. All the posturing by these politicians about the need to help the “mentally ill” yet, they make it illegal to actually feed them or try to help them. I’m not homeless but I do believe that I am mentally ill, due to PTSD. All my doctor wants to do is make me take drugs. UGH.

              Like

              • I’ve lived with chronic depression all my life and have been on and off meds. When I don’t take the medication I’m okay for a while but then inevitably sink back into deep depression and need to go back on again. I realize that but for the grace of God it could easily be me out there on the streets. We need to do better.

                Like

                • I’ve tried the drugs but they didn’t do much. Last year, my doctor wanted me to try Prozac but was worried because she said it made you lose weight. I weighed 94 then (and still do.) I guess she scared me so much, I didn’t take them. Just last week, I threw them out.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • I was just put on Prozac in November and I lost 20 pounds by mid December but now my appetite is back full force and I’m afraid to get on the scale. I needed to lose 30 (was so close). The Wellbutrin I was on the year prior worked but I always felt shortness of breath and couldn’t take it any longer. I just wish I could find the right one without the nasty side effects. If you don’t mind my asking is your weight due to the PTSD? It’s probably a good thing that you threw the pills away.

                    Like

                    • I still hover around 94. I was never big but I usually weighed around 115 to 120 so if was a big loss for me….but it only happened two years ago….right after I discovered that Loser wanted to turn me into his whore. I guess that idea just fucked with me too much.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • I felt the same way after my first husband. The only saving grace was that I was still young (early 20s) but it was so hard getting him out of my system and the hurt he caused nearly took me out of here. I look back now and can’t believe that was me.

                      Like

                    • If there is any way you could be called “lucky” it is that you were relatively young. I’m 65 and not much time left to really start over and not being one to “buy” company like Loser, I’m just left with the fact that I wasted almost my entire life.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • You’re right, starting over probably wouldn’t make much sense but starting where you’re at now could. It’s never too late and while you’ve experienced a lot of bad you deserve so much more good.

                      Like

Leave a Reply

